a student studying in their scholarship hall room

Returning Resident Scholarships

Student Housing awards more than $275,000 in scholarship funds to returning residents annually. Residents may choose from more than 50 scholarship opportunities.


Below are the names of more than 50 scholarships available for returning KU Student Housing residents. Scholarship amounts vary between $500 and $6,000. The criteria for each scholarship are listed on the scholarship application.

Timeline for the 2023–2024 Scholarship Process

The application for the 2023–2024 scholarship process will be open from March 6 - 27, 2023. All scholarship applications will be reviewed and those receiving scholarships will be notified by the end of May.

To be considered you must:

  1. Live on campus currently.
  2. Sign your housing contract to live on campus next year.
  3. Complete FAFSA or the Institutional Needs Analysis Worksheet (ISNAW) for scholarships that consider financial need.
  4. Apply by completing this online form, which will also be emailed to current scholarship hall residents.

Residence Halls and Apartments

Qualifying returning residents in residence halls and apartments my apply to these scholarships and awards.

  • Alma Poehler Brook Memorial Scholarship (for women in GSP-Corbin only)
  • Campbell-Wright Memorial Scholarship
  • Caryl Kelley Smith Leadership Scholarship
  • Christopher M Sowa Student Leadership Scholarship
  • Fred McElhenie Scholarship
  • GSP/Corbin Outstanding Woman Scholarship
  • Housing Management Departmental Scholarship

Scholarship Halls

Qualifying returning residents in the scholarship halls my apply to these scholarships and awards.

  • Allan W Wicker International Student Scholarship
  • Amanda and Bryce Holt Scholarship
  • ASHC President Scholarship
  • Carol and Paul Gerlach Scholarship
  • Chuck and Mary Ladesich Loveland Student Leadership Award
  • Cummings-Engelmann Scholarship
  • Delmer and Ruth Harris Family Scholarship
  • Doug Milroy Engineering Scholarship (men only)
  • Dwight and Kay Brua Patton Scholarship
  • Fred McElhenie Scholarship
  • Jean E Milroy Engineering Scholarship
  • Jim and Joyce Kifer Scholarship
  • Kathryn Nemeth Tuttle Student Scholar Award
  • Kent E & Marsha Gilson Palmberg Scholarship
  • KU Scholarship Halls Scholarship

KK & Margaret Amini Hall Residents

  • K.K. & Margaret Amini Scholarship

Battenfeld Hall Residents

  • Carlotta Nellis National Merit Scholarship
  • Chuck Loveland Memorial Award
  • Daniel K. Wanamaker Scholarship
  • Davis Ross Scholarship
  • Drowatzky Family Scholarship
  • E. Dean Werries National Merit Scholarship
  • Ehrlich Family Scholarship
  • Florence Montgomery Memorial Scholarship
  • John Curry Battenfeld Memorial Scholarship
  • Philip and Joann Logan Scholarship

Douthart Hall Residents

  • Carlotta Nellis Scholarship
  • Christiano Scholarship
  • Douthart Dynasty Scholarship

Grace Pearson Hall Residents

  • Grace Pearson Alumni Scholarship (men only)
  • Marietta Jackson Scholarship

Miller Hall Residents

  • Miller Hall Academic Excellence Scholarship
  • Miller Hall Alumnae Scholarship
  • Miller Hall Leadership Scholarship
  • Dr. Robert C. and Lois E. Adams Nelson Scholarship
  • Sally Harshaw Selk Memorial Scholarship

Pearson Hall Residents

  • Dean J. Milroy Scholarship
  • Ely Shrauner Scholarship
  • Pearson Hall Alumni Scholarship
  • Dr. Robert C. and Lois E. Adams Nelson Scholarship
  • Will Hancock Scholarship

Sellards Hall Residents

  • Barbara Stover Sellards Hall Scholarship
  • Margo Crist Scholarship for Students Studying Abroad
  • Patricia Hackney Miller Scholarship
  • Sara Paretsky Scholarship
  • Sellards Hall Leadership Scholarship
  • Shirley and Wally Strauch Scholarship
  • Sue Callaway Birkholz Memorial Scholarship

Stephenson Hall Residents

  • Lance Storie Foster Memorial Scholarship
  • Ray and Judy Germonprez Scholarship

Watkins Hall Residents

  • Billie Kent Wiedman Scholarship
  • Lela Ross Metzler Scholarship
  • Muriel Stember Hannig Scholarship
  • Watkins Hall Academic Excellence Scholarship
  • Watkins Hall Alumnae Scholarship
  • Watkins Hall Class of 1946 Scholarship
  • Watkins Hall Leadership Scholarship

Other Scholarships Awarded

These scholarships do not have an application process.

  • Miller Hall Leadership Scholarship
  • Sellards Hall Leadership Scholarship
  • Watkins Hall Leadership Scholarship