• Home
  • KU Housing staff garners awards; McKenna elected president-elect

KU Housing staff garners awards; McKenna elected president-elect

Tuesday, November 13, 2018

KU Student Housing staff team received multiple awards and accolades this past week at a conference dedicated to housing professionals. The conference, the Upper Midwest Region of the Association of College and University Housing Officers-International, was held Nov. 7-9 in Sioux Falls, S.D.

Jacque McKenna, a KU Student Housing assistant director for for residence life, was elected president-elect of the organization. Here are the other individual accolades:

  • Jacque McKenna – Elected to serve as the Vice President/President-Elect for 2018-2019 and will serve as President and then Past President the following two years. McKenna also was awarded best overall article in Perspectives magazine for "My Grief Observed: A Journey of Resilience."
  • Ashleigh Wilson – Recipient of the Drake Martin Commitment to Social Justice Award
  • Paige Freeman – Recipient of the Outstanding New Professional – Master’s Level Award
  • Gayla Carr Schmitz – Recipient of the Support Staff Recognition Award
  • Ashley Unmacht – Recipient of the Frank J. Traver’s President’s Scholarship
  • Allie Reischl – Recipient of the New Presenter Scholarship
  • Shatera Davis – Honorable Mention in the UMR-ACUHO Conference Case Study
  • Allie Reischl – Nominated for the Graduate Student Social Justice Action Award
  • Annie Lundeen – Nominated for the Outstanding New Professional – Bachelor’s Level Award

Group Accolades

  • Gender Inclusive Housing, chaired by Ashleigh Wilson – Recipient of the UMR-ACUHO Research Grant
  • Moving from Surviving to Thriving, presented by Al Jones and Keniese Evans – Top Extended Program
  • From Programming to Curriculum: KU’s Journey Toward an Educational Approach, presented by Al Jones, Shatera Davis, Michael Louis, & Terianne Pitts – Top 5 Program, Best New Presenters to Shatera, Mike, & Terianne
  • Girl, Wash Your Face, co-presented by Paige Freeman and 6 other panelists – Top 5 Program

Committee Members for 2018

  • Kirsten Andrews, Program Committee - Chair
  • Paige Freeman, Program Committee
  • Al Jones, Social Justice Committee - Chair
  • Megan Nemec, Professional Development & Training Committee
  • Phil Neuman, Communications Committee
  • Ashleigh Wilson, Social Justice Committee


Executive Board for 2018

  • Jacque McKenna, State Membership Coordinator

More than $200,000 in annual scholarships to returning residents
Academic success: More than 94 percent of first-time, full-time freshmen in student housing enroll for the next semester
5,100 residents choose student housing each year
Residence hall rates are almost $2,000 less per year than the national average for public schools
— College Board
$4 million alumni gift funded Krehbiel Scholarship Hall
Options include suites, private bedroom with shared bath, two-person rooms, scholarship halls, and apartments
Oswald and Self residence halls opened in 2015
One bill covers all costs: room, food, utilities, and wireless Internet
One of 34 U.S. public institutions in the prestigious Association of American Universities